Moving Forward

Deciding to take the semester off was one of the hardest choices I have ever made, only because I was listening to my head and not my heart…

I was not happy for the longest time during my first semester of Sophomore year at school, It was hard to pretend like I enjoyed going out and being around people 24/7. Eventually I started to stay at my apartment and keep to myself, thank god I had roommates or I probably would have never saw daylight for days on end.

I’ve had a lot of people ask me if I made the right choice by leaving and I say YES! Since taking the semester off I have been a lot healthier, happier and I know what I want to do with my career. From the few months of being away I did not understand how and why I let myself get “stuck in a rabbit hole” or as I call it, depression. I was forcing myself to be somewhere I didn’t want to be and became such an angry person because I was unhappy. Life is way too short to live this way…

Unfortunately, through the process I have lost friends, It truly shows you who has your best interest at heart. It took me awhile to understand how people could be so selfish and unsporting but it made me so much closer to the people who have stood by me through this difficult transition back home. So thank you to everyone for the random texts and snap chats to see how I was doing.

Taking a few months off is such a small portion of you life, it does not define you. Sometimes you need to take a short break to get your life back on the train tracks.

I could not have done this process without the support of my family, My mom and dad and my grandma and also my family in California who opened their home to me in February to have a escape from reality. Everyday I think about how lucky I am for these people in my life. Also thanks to my BFF Meg and mom #2 for opening their home to me whenever I want to come and visit, your support kept me going!

Leave a Reply

